Gift Celebration

Gift Celebration2

Dr. Guerrero giving his inspiring presentation, with Dean Jerris Hedges looking on.

Gift Celebration1

From left: Naleen N. Andrade, M.D., John F. McDermott, M.D., Walter F. Char, M.D., and Dean Jerris Hedges

The Department of Psychiatry Gift Celebration took place on July 26, 2015, at the JABSOM Medical Education Building.

The event recognized the Department of Psychiatry’s faculty for their generous investments to establish the Walter F. Char, M.D., John F. McDermott, M.D., and Naleen N. Andrade, M.D., Endowed Professorship.

Our three Chair Emeriti—Drs. Walter F. Char, John F. McDermott, and Naleen N. Andrade—and present Chair—Dr. Anthony P. S. Guerrero—were recognized and honored for their tremendous contributions to the Department of Psychiatry, JABSOM, and Hawai‘i.



June 2015 Updates and Announcements from the Executive Management Team

  • Announcements:
    • Dr. Drake Chinen, recipient of the Char Award in Psychiatry
    • Congratulations to all our graduating Residents and Fellows
    • Welcome back from the APA: Drs. Danz, Lee, Louie, Takeshita, and Williams
    • Welcome back from the Society for Prevention Research: Dr. Helm
  • Chair’s Update:
    • State of the Department
    • Reminder to all faculty, staff, residents, and fellow: Extended Faculty meeting on July 7, 2015 at 10:00am at the QMC Kamehameha Auditorium
    • Reminder to RSVP for the Endowment Celebration by 6/19 on 6/25, 5:30pm.
    • Reminder: Aloha Party on 6/19