Research Division Introduction

Since its inception in the 1970s, the Department of Psychiatry has been conducting and publishing important scholarship and research on mental health. Over 500 journal articles, special-issue journals, books, and book chapters have been published by faculty and staff since the Department of Psychiatry’s founding.

The Research Division was established in 2000, and has successfully been awarded over $28 million in extramural funding—the majority of which from federal government sources (e.g., National Institute of Mental Health [NIMH], National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism [NIAAA], National Institute on Drug Abuse [NIDA], National Institute of Aging [NIA], National Cancer Institute [NCI], Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC]).

The Research Division is headed by Earl Hishinuma, Ph.D., Professor & Associate Chair of Research, and Deborah Goebert, Dr.P.H., Associate Professor & Associate Director of Research. The Research Council is composed of Dr. Earl Hishinuma (Chair, Research Council), Dr. Deborah Goebert, Dr. Naleen Andrade, Dr. Jane Onoye, and Dr. Susana Helm. Dr. Earl Hishinuma can be contacted as follows:

Earl S. Hishinuma, Ph.D.
Professor & Associate Chair of Research
Department of Psychiatry
1356 Lusitana St., 4th Floor, Room 407
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96813
Work phone: (808) 586-5906 (Queen’s)
Work fax: (808) 586-2940 (Queen’s)

The Research Division is housed in primarily two locations:

Queen’s Medical Center
University of Hawai‘i Tower
1356 Lusitana St., 4th Floor
Honolulu, HI 96813

Gold Bond Building
677 Ala Moana Boulevard, Suite 301
Honolulu, HI 96813

The following are the Research Division’s major research projects: