Environmental Law Program

The IELMC Team Makes it to the Semifinals!

IELMC-in-D.C._20132-e1366187078499Congratulations to Angelica Zabanal ’14, Doug Raphael ’13, and Christilei Hessler ’13 for achieving the distinction of finishing as semifinalists at the North America Regional Round of the 2013 International Environmental Moot Court Competition. Unlike previous years, there was only one regional competition held in the United States in 2013. Doug, Christilei and Angelica represented WSRSL well by prevailing in three preliminary rounds against higher ranking teams from Wake Forest, Hastings (Runners-up, 2012 International Rounds) and host American University. Our IELMC team again defeated American in a quarterfinal rematch, before falling to Hugh Wooding Law School (Trinidad) in the semifinals. By split decision, Pepperdine (Semifinalists, 2012 International Rounds) earned the 2013 National Championship by defeating Trinidad in the final round, avenging a preliminary round upset by Trinidad the day before.

Along with Christilei, Doug, and Angelica, faculty advisor David M. Forman ’93, and alumni coaches Seth Harris ’01 and Jennifer Woo ’06 extend their thanks to the judges who volunteered to moot the team during practice arguments: Prof. Carole Peterson, Tom Villalon ’13, the Honorable Catherine Remigio ’92, Prof. Jae-Hyup Lee, and Doug Codiga ’94 (original IELMC coach). We also appreciate the on-site moral support provided by WSRSL alumnae, and current John Marshall Law School Professor, Kim Chanbonpin ’03; Prof. Chanbonpin’s team earned the Best Memorial Award.

(Pictured L-R: Angelica Zabanal ’14, Doug Raphael ’13, and Christilei Hessler ’13)