UH Manoa’s spring commencement


With Senator Dan Akaka at the UH Manoa’s pre-commencement reception

It was with great pride that I saw more than 2,000 UH Mānoa students receive their hard earned diplomas in both the undergraduate and advanced degree commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 12.

Senator Daniel Akaka attended our pre-commencement reception before the advanced degree ceremonies in the afternoon, where he received an honorary degree for his lifelong dedication and contributions in public service.

Internationally renowned author Haruki Murakami also received an honorary degree.

We were also fortunate to have Anton Krucky as our featured speaker at the advanced degree ceremony.  He is co-founder and CEO of Tissue Genesis and also very active in philanthropic and community affairs.

About 800 graduate students heard him speak before receiving their advanced degrees.

Earlier, 1,400 undergraduate students received their bachelor’s degrees. During the pre-commencement reception, I had the honor of meeting with educators and philanthropists Bernard and Barbro Osher, who received the Honorary Doctorates of Humane Letters.

Dr. Claire Asam and Dr. J. Kuhio Asam—both UH Mānoa graduates—were featured speakers during the undergraduate degree ceremony.

We also had the pleasure of welcoming student speaker Jenna Robinson, who captivated her fellow graduates and the thousands who attended the undergraduate ceremony. Jenna received her BA in history and ethnic studies and is an intern and researcher for the African American Diversity Cultural Center of Hawaii, where she is working on empowering African–American youth in Hawaiʻi through artistic expression. She has an amazing story. She is one of seven children and the only college graduate.

Congratulations to all graduates.


With Anton Krucky at UH Manoa’s advanced degree ceremony


At UH Manoa’s pre-commencement reception with, from left, Bernard and Barbro Osher and UH Manoa Chancellor Virginia Hinshaw


At UH Manoa’s undergraduate ceremony with, from left, Claire Asam, Kuhio Asam, Chancellor Hinshaw and Board of Regents Chair Eric Martinson