TOP HONORS: Dr. Andrade completes term as National President; Laughlin Fellowship awarded to JABSOM Psychiatry chief resident Alexis Aplasca

The John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM) Department of Psychiatry had much to celebrate this year at the annual meeting of the American College of Psychiatrists (ACP).

Not only was the meeting held in Hawai`i–on Kaua`i–but longtime University of Hawai`i Chair of Psychiatry Dr. Naleen Andrade completed her term as national President of the ACP at the meeting.

The meeting began with a Native Hawaiian call to order, the stirring sound of a conch shell being blown as Dr. Andrade prepared to take the stage. Dr. Andrade is a JABSOM alumna and  a Native Hawaiian who was encouraged in medicine by the `Imi Hō`ola Post Baccaulareate Program. That yearlong intensive study, for promising students who hope to become MD candidates, has produced more than 225 MDs, 40% of them Native Hawaiians. The stunning photo of Dr. Andrade preparing to take the stage at the meeting was taken by Kevin Shick Photography for the ACP.

Last July, Dr. Andrade was appointed Designated Institutional Official (DIO) at JABSOM by Dean Jerris Hedges. So between her new duties leading Graduate Medical Education at her alma mater and heading the national psychiatry group, 2012-2013 has been a period of time Dr. Andrade is not soon to forget.

“Dr. Andrade did a super outstanding job as leader of the ACP as it celebrated its 50th anniversary,” said Anthony Guerrero, M.D., JABSOM Interim Chair of Psychiatry. Dr. Guerrero was also proud that the scientific program at the annual meeting included JABSOM Professor of Psyciatry Dr. Jon Streltzer as one of the speakers, in addition to Dr. Andrade.

Dr. Andrade, Dr. Aplasca and Dr. Zisook at the ACP annual meeting on Kaua`i. ACP Photo by Kevin Shick Photography.

Dr. Andrade, Dr. Aplasca and Dr. Zisook at the ACP annual meeting on Kaua`i. ACP Photo by Kevin Shick Photography.


The good news doesnʻt even stop there for Psychiatry. One of JABSOMʻs psychiatry residents was selected at the meeting to receive the Henry Laughlin Fellowship, named after the ACPʻs founder.

Only 10 outstanding medical residents in the U.S. are chosen annually to become Laughlin Fellows. JABSOMʻs awardee, Dr. Alexis Aplasca, is currently a fifth-year trainee and chief resident at the University of Hawai’i combined training program in pediatrics, adult psychiatry, and child and adolescent psychiatry.

“These ten outstanding psychiatrists represent the future of the specialty,” said Sidney Zisook, M.D., Chair of the Laughlin Fellowship Selection Committee, when he introduced the Fellows at the Annual Meeting on February 23. “We are proud and honored to welcome them to The College.”

The Laughlin Fellowship, launched in 1976, selects psychiatry residents who are deemed most likely to make a significant future contribution to the field of psychiatry. The College provides a stipend for the Laughlin Fellows to attend The College’s Annual Meeting and participate in all educational functions, allowing them to interact with College Members, as well as their peers in other residency programs.

Read more about ACP by clicking on American College of Psychiatrists .

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes