Dr. DANNY TAKANISHI appointed to Chair Surgical Oncology Educational Project

Dr. Danny Takanishi, Jr., tenured Professor of Surgery and Program Director of the General Surgery Residency Program at the University of Hawai‘i John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM), has been appointed Chair of the Complex General Surgical Oncology Milestones Development Project by The American Board of Surgery and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Dr. Danny Takanishi, Department of Surgery.

Dr. Danny Takanishi, Department of Surgery.

The Milestones Project is an initiative jointly sponsored by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), under which The American Board of Surgery is a member, and the ACGME, and is the next step in advancing educational outcome assessment in graduate medical education through the design of specialty- and subspecialty-specific systems of competency-based learning and assessment. This initiative entails formulating a more precise definition of the subcomponents of the six domains of general competence along with the levels of performance expected of each trainee at key points across the continuum of their education. Of note, Board certification in Complex General Surgical Oncology represents the only new certificate offered by The American Board of Surgery since 1984. Subsequent to the approval of this new board certification process, the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Surgery had begun accrediting training programs in Complex General Surgical Oncology.

“I look forward to contributing my knowledge and experience in a position for which I am honored to serve, while representing JABSOM to the best of my abilities,” said Dr. Takanishi. He has served in other similar roles nationally. He has been a member of the ACGME Council of Review Committees, past-Chair of the ACGME Transitional Year Residency Review Committee, past-Chair of the ACGME Common Program Requirements Subcommittee, past-Co-Chair of the Transitional Year Residency Milestones Development Project, and is a recent appointee to the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Surgery.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes