Moot Court Teams

The ELP is proud to sponsor two different student moot court teams — one that addresses national pollution control issues and the other that concerns international environmental disputes — that participate every year in mock appellate arguments held on the U.S. mainland against other top law schools. Both teams have outstanding records of success in the prestigious competitions that test their advocacy skills on complex law issues before seasoned judges and allow them to match their wits against other talented law students from the U.S. and around the world.


The Environmental Law Moot Court team focuses on complex federal environmental law problems and has competed every year since 1991 at the Pace University Law School National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition in New York. 

This team has a strong tradition of excellence.  In 1999, this team won the National Championship out of over 60 schools competing; in 2002, the team won the top award for their excellent Brief for Appellees; and, in 2003, the team received the Best Overall Brief Award. In 2008, our team of Allan Alicuben, Jael Makagon, and Mits Takahashi was “top 3” in the country, competing in the prestigious final round of the competition. The team in 2009, Everett Ohta, George White, and Kristen Yamamoto, each earned the “best oralist” award in their three preliminary rounds. In 2010, Yamamoto, Jamila Jarmon, and Elena Bryant – continued the tradition as each member earned the “best oralist” award in their three preliminary rounds. In 2011, Bryant, Chad Kumagai, and Danny Patel – continued the tradition as Kumagai and Patel earned the “best oralist” award in the preliminary rounds. In 2012, Jamil Newirth, Tiara Maumau, and Lehua Kauhane – continued the tradition as Kauhane earned the “best oralist” award in the preliminary rounds.

The team for the upcoming 2012-2013 school year includes returning member Tiara Maumau, Mahina Tuteur, and Kylie Wager. Best of luck in White Plains, New Y ladies!


The International Environmental Law Moot Court Team began competing in 2000 against U.S. and international law schools at the Stetson College of Law competition each October in Florida. In that first year, team member Leilani Tan, class of 2002, won the Best Oralist Award among all competitors. In 2002, the team was the top-scoring U.S. team and second in the international competition that included teams from India, Spain, Ireland, and Australia. In 2003, the team won third place overall on a topic involving high seas drift net fishing. In 2004, the team won the prestigious Best Memorial Brief award addressing an international dispute involving wetlands and biodiversity. Ranae Doser, class of 2005, noted: “The international aspect of this competition was a phenomenal experience. We tested our professional skills against law students around the globe on truly difficult international law controversies. The competition is a rare, and fun, opportunity to experience personally the exciting future of international law.”

In 2009 Leslie Cole-Brooks won a Best Oralist award for her performance in the preliminary round. Last year’s IEL Team – Laura Chen Allen, Amy Brinker, and Leslie Cole-Brooks completed their memorial in November, and was awarded 3rd best memorial in the Regional North American (Pacific) competition in January in what the competition host commented as one of the closest competitions she had seen.

In 2010, under the tutelage of alumni Seth Harris and Jennifer Woo (formerly Tsou), the IEL Team, Allen, Eryn Reyes, and Douglas Raphael placed 2nd in the finals. Please click on the links for video of their performances in the semi-finals and the finals.

In 2012, Christilei Hessler ’13, Eryn Reyes Leong ’12, Doug Raphael ’13, and Thomas Villalon ’13 earned the Third Place Memorial (brief) award and advanced to the quarterfinal round during the IEL competition, held at the Stetson University Law School in Gulfport, Florida.

This years team (2013) did exceptionally well and ELP congratulates Angelica Zabanal ’12, Doug Raphael ’13, and Christilei Hessler ’13 for achieving the distinction of finishing as semifinalists at the North America Regional Round of the 2013 International Environmental Moot Court Competition. Unlike previous years, there was only one regional competition held in North America in 2013. Doug, Christilei and Angelica represented WSRSL well by prevailing in three preliminary rounds against higher ranking teams from Wake Forest, Hastings (Runners-up, 2012 International Rounds) and host American University. Our IEMCC team again defeated American in a quarterfinal rematch, before falling to Hugh Wooding Law School (Trinidad) in the semifinals. By split decision, Pepperdine (Semifinalists, 2012 International Rounds) earned the 2013 National Championship by defeating Trinidad in the final round, avenging a preliminary round upset by Trinidad the day before.

Along with Christilei, Doug, and Angelica, faculty advisor David M. Forman ’93, and alumni coaches Seth Harris ’01 and Jennifer Woo ’06 extend their thanks to the judges who volunteered to moot the team during practice arguments: Prof. Carole Peterson, Tom Villalon ’13, the Honorable Catherine Remigio ’92, Prof. Jae-Hyup Lee, and Doug Codiga ’94 (original IEMCC coach).