Chancellorʻs Mahalo Message

HawCC Administrative Team

Mahalo nui loa to Mike Leialoha, Joni Onishi, Beth Sanders, Jim Yoshida, Debbie Shigehara, and Guy Kimura.

Thank you for your continued support!

HawCC College Council and Academic Senate

I wish to extend my thanks to Dorinna Manuel-Cortez for her two years of service as College Council chair and to Ellen Okuma for serving as the Academic Senate chair.

Congratulations to incoming chairpersons, Monica Burnett, College Council, and Joyce Hamasaki, Academic Senate.

Accreditation Liaison and Self-Evaluation

Mahalo to Kate Sims for serving as the HawCC Accreditation Liaison.  Kudos to self-evaluation co-chairpersons Gwen Kimura and Joel Tanabe for overseeing the ongoing self-evaluation process.  We also want to thank the Standard committees chairpersons, Raynette Haleamau-Kam and Mike Saito (Standard I), Sherri Fujita and Annie Maeda (Standard II), Wilton Watanabe (Standard III), and Pamela Scheffler (Standard IV).

Hawai‘i Island United Way

Thank you co-chairs Anne Chung and Jodi Mine, for coordinating the Hawai‘i Island United Way Fundraiser.  And, most importantly, mahalo nui loa to all of you who contributed.

Academic Scholarship Committee

The purpose of the Academic Scholarship Committee is to select student nominees for national scholarship competitions.  Mahalo to Mai Wong for chairing this committee; and committee members: Marla Demarco, Larissa Leslie, Violet Murakami and Hazel Reece.

HawCC Achieving the Dream Core Team

Achieving the Dream provides participating colleges with support to implement strategies designed to help more students–particularly our Native Hawaiian and low-income students earn degrees, complete certificates or transfer to other institutions to continue their studies.  Achieving the Dream emphasizes building a culture of evidence to identify effective practices, improve student success rates and close the achievement gaps.

Mahalo to HawCC’s AtD Core Team:  Sam Giordanengo, team leader and members Doodie Downs, Shawn Flood, Joyce Hamasaki, Lucy Jones, Guy Kimura, Mike Leialoha, Melanie Marciel, Trina Nahm-Mijo, Joni Onishi, Christine Quintana, Jeanne Ryan, Hettie Scofield, James Schumaker, Deborah Shigehara, and Taupouri Tangaro.

Student Academic Grievance Committee

This committee hears student grievances that were unable to be resolved at the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs’ level.  There were no cases during this academic year.  Thank you Mai Wong, Chair, as well as Hazel Reece, Joel Peralto, and student representatives Kanoe Case, Cameron Bicket and Josh Fuentes.

Student Conduct Committee

My thanks to the Student Conduct Committee:  Kaleopono Quintana, chair, and members Jill Savage, Karen Kane, Wilton Watanabe and student representatives Shea Kahookaulana, Ala Matsumoto, and Jazmine Mantanona.

Faculty/Staff Awards and BOR Excellence in Teaching Award

The Faculty/Staff Award Committee reviews the nominations for the Outstanding Lecturer, Outstanding Staff Member, Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service, Innovation Award, and Mahalo Award.  Serving on the committee were chair, Larissa Leslie and members Paul Heerlein, Dorinna Manuel-Cortez, April Nakagawa, and Mike Saito.  Mahalo!

The recipient of the BOR Excellence in Teaching Award will be announced at the 2011 Spring Commencement.  I want to thank Sherri Fujita, chair, and the committee members Laurel Gregory, Christine Quintana, Taupouri Tangaro, and student representatives Melinda Alles and Mattson Mukai for serving on the committee.

Faculty/Staff Development Committee

“The function/purpose of this committee is to create and present programs to promote organizational development, professional and personal development of college personnel; provide opportunities for social networking…”   We extend our appreciation to co-chairpersons Annette Maeda and Monica Burnett and committee members Kenoa Dela Cruz, Sherri Fujita, Muriel Hughes, Bernhard Laurich, Violet Murakami, Helen Nishimoto, Kate Sims, and Mai Wong.

Safety Committee

This committee’s function and purpose is to report all safety and security issues concerning Hawai‘i Community College including the UH Center at West Hawai‘i.  Mahalo goes out to chair William Affonso and members Erick Cremer, Paul Heerlein, Karen Kane, Kaleopono Quintana and Wilton Watanabe.

Protocols Committee

As described by Dr. Taupouri Tangaro, “the practice of Hawai‘i Protocols at Hawai‘i Community College is integral to our collective role as stewards of things Hawaiian.  Hawai‘i protocols remind us of our profound and significant connection to the dynamic world in which we live.”  This committee prepared for several kipaepae ceremonies this past year for Dr. Donald Straney, Chancellor, UH Hilo; Dr. Barbara Arthurs, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs; Dr. M.R.C. Greenwood, UH President.  Mahalo to Tangaro and members: Kekuhi Kealiikanakaoleohaililani, Sandra Alapai, Monica Burnett, Doris Chang, John-Gabriel James, Dorinna Manuel-Cortez, Sean Naleimaile, Toni-Ann Samio, Jacqueline “Ulu” Vanblarcom, and Keith Yamase.

Kauhale Wala`au Talk Story Sessions

The Wala`au Talk Story Sessions are intended to generate campus wide discussions and ideas of how to sustain the philosophy we call Kauhale.  Mahalo to Tangaro for accompanying me on this journey and to Sandra Alapai, Doodie Downs and Doris Chang for coordinating the meetings.

Mahalo to all of you for a terrific year.  Have a great summer.  Be safe and we’ll see you in the Fall.

Noreen Yamane

Interim Chancellor


This entry was posted in Message from the Chancellor. Bookmark the permalink.