Laurel Gregory Receives The Pualu Award (WH)

Laurel Gregory

From left: Vivian Landrum, Kona-Kohala Chamber of Commerce; Laurel Gregory, West Hawai‘i Community College; and Debbie Baker, Current Events.

Laurel Gregory, librarian at the University Center West Hawai‘i, was awarded the Pualu Award for Community Education at the June 2012 Kona Kohala Chamber of Commerce annual Installation Banquet and Membership Luncheon at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

The Pualu Award for Community Education honors an individual or organization that promotes and supports education and enrichment programs that develop personal skills and lifelong learning.

As Librarian at the University Center, West Hawai‘i Laurel has turned the library into a student friendly, welcoming resource center that encourages both on-campus and distance learning students to expand their educational opportunities.

In addition, for the past decade Gregory has been a member of the Kona AAUW – American Association of University Women—and has been instrumental in this group’s support of two programs for continued education. They are Women in Transition, a program that encourages women to enter or re-enter college after having been out of the system working and/or caring for a family. And GEMS, Girls Exploring Math and Science, is a program to expand girls’ awareness of math and science-related careers. Through Gregory’s efforts, access and interest in higher education on Hawai‘i Island has been increased.

The Kona-Kohala Chamber of Commerce established the Pualu Awards in 1979 to honor outstanding individuals, businesses and non-profit organizations in West Hawaii for their dedication and hard work in the community. In the Hawaiian dictionary pualu means, “to work together.” This year’s winners have demonstrated the spirit of pualu by working to ensure West Hawai‘i continues to be a community we are proud to call home. Winners were chosen by the Pualu Awards committee from nominations received in the office by Chamber members and the general public. There are nine winners in seven categories.

Mahalo Laurel Gregory for all your dedicated work!




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.