HawCC Student Council elected, sworn in

Student Council members include: (front row, l-r) VP for West Hawai`i Kathleen Richardson, VP Mareita Carino, Activities Secretary Flavia Westermann, President Marcy Martinez; (back row, l-r) Student Representative Marta Lowry, Activities Vice Chair Eric Aranug, Activities Treasurer Duane Nishimoto, Treasurer David Canning, Secretary Shannen Hatayama, Student Representative Eric Peterson, Student Respresentative Malia Duvauchelle, and Activities Chair Naomi Glimane-Kim. Missing: Kawai Carlos-Keli`ikipi and Assomption Tebelak.

The students of Hawai`i Community College now have a Student Council representing their needs and interests.

Three elections were held during the Fall 2012 semester, first to adopt the new charters and bylaws, then to elect members, and then to elect more members. There are currently 14 members and two vacancies on the Student Council.

On Friday, December 28, the 12 members pictured in the above photo took their oaths of office and attended a training session to better acquaint themselves with their responsibilities and with each other. On January 4 the Student Council members appointed their officers.

The Student Council meets every first and third Friday of the month from 2:30 p. m. – 4:30 p.m. In Hilo, they meet in Kaneikeao (Manono, 379-1), and in Kona the meeting room is the B5 Conference Room.

This entry was posted in Communicating in a Variety of Situations, Communicating Kauhale Activities. Bookmark the permalink.