New Phi Thetta Kappa members inducted in West Hawai‘i

New Phi Thetta Kappa members, from left to right, are Kurtis Becker, Kimberly Talanoa, Mylene Marie Balisalisa, Stephanie Briseno Sanchez, Samantha Patterson, Stephen Hasegawa, Carolyn Geary, Justin Gurtin, Megan Malan, Susanne Deutschbein, Alexandra Rigaud, Stefan Koehler, and Malie Koehler. Not pictured are Addison Dahlke, Christopher Lee, Lorelei Kakagawa, Russell Nishihara, Joli Remund, Camie Richno, Michael Schloffel, and Kelsea Wells.

Twenty-one new members were inducted on February 21 into the West Hawai‘i group of Alpha Psi Epsilon, the Hawai‘i Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, which is the international honor society for two-year colleges.

Families and friends attended the event, and Dr. Nani Damasco, a Hawai‘i Community College graduate, was the guest speaker. A native of the Ka’u district, Nani shared her insights as a “mature” student and the first person in her family to earn a college degree.

She is currently a Vice Principal at Kealakehe Elementary School and has developed an after-school tutoring and enrichment program that provides approximately 250 students with additional learning support. Most recently, she has formed a partnership with HOPE Services, Inc. and Imagine Learning Corporation in developing a satellite after-school tutoring and homework center at the new Kaloko Ulu Wini Housing Project. This is the first project of its kind found in the State of Hawai‘i.

The West Hawai‘i section of Alpha Psi Epsilon has inducted over 370 members into the Society since the chapter was formed in 1993.

Speakers at the event were: Dr. Nani Damasco, Guest Speaker; Laurel Gregory, Faculty Advisor; Kate Sims, Faculty Advisor; and Kathlyn Richardson, Member Phi Theta Kappa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.