Chancellor’s Message

HawCC Administrative Team

Mahalo nui loa to Joni Onishi, Jason Cifra, Jim Yoshida, Marty Fletcher, Debbie Shigehara, Guy Kimura and Joyce Hamasaki.

Thank you for your continued support!

HawCC College Council and Academic Senate

I wish to extend my thanks to Manai Kalua for serving as College Council Chair, and Noe Noe Wong-Wilson as Vice Chair. Mahalo to Monica Burnett for your assistance during the academic year. Our appreciation is extended to our clerical support for taking minutes at the College Council meetings: Kanani Yamada, Lori Medeiros, April Nakagawa, Val Burgess-Mae, Luane Ishii, Melany Ayudan, Paula Medeiros, Cathy Arita, Janice Watanabe and Joeanne Losalio-Watson.

Mahalo to Helen Nishimoto for serving as the chair of the Academic Senate these past two years. Congratulations to Joel Peralto on being elected as the new chair.

Accreditation Liaison and Self-Evaluation

Mahalo to Erik Kalani Flores, Accreditation Liaison Officer, for the timely submittal of the Follow-Up Report to the ACCJC in October 2013. Kalani will continue to work during the summer to submit the next Follow-Up Report by October 15, 2014.

Hawai‘i Island United Way

Thank you, co-chairs Marla DeMarco and Tambra Fry for coordinating the Hawai‘i Island United Way Fundraiser. And, most importantly, mahalo nui loa to all of you who contributed.

Food Drive

Claudia Wilcox-Boucher chaired this year’s Food Drive. Thank you, Claudia, for coordinating the drop-off boxes at the various departments throughout our campus and for collecting all the donations. Mahalo to all who donated food items or monetary contributions for such a worthy cause.

Academic Scholarship Committee

The purpose of the Academic Scholarship Committee is to select student nominees for national scholarship competitions. Mahalo to Mai Wong for chairing this committee; and committee members: Joel Peralto, Larissa Leslie and Laurel Gregory. This year, one of our nominees to the All USA Community College Academic Team was selected as the state of Hawai‘i 2013-2014 Coca-Cola/Phi Theta Kappa New Century Scholar. Student Edward Bufil accepted the award in Washington, DC, in April.

Assessment Committee:

The Assessment Committee is dedicated to advancing student learning through activities, experiences and results discovered through the assessment process. Mahalo to James Kiley, Joyce Hamasaki, Guy Kimura, Andrey Chan, Anne Chung, Kanoe Lambert, Robert Duley, Helen Nishimoto, Jodi Mine, Estee Nathanson and Brianna Day for serving on this committee.

HawCC Achieving the Dream Core Team

Achieving the Dream provides participating colleges with support to implement strategies designed to help more students–particularly our Native Hawaiian and low-income students earn degrees, complete certificates or transfer to other institutions to continue their studies. Achieving the Dream emphasizes building a culture of evidence to identify effective practices, improve student success rates and close the achievement gaps.

Mahalo to HawCC’s AtD Core Team: Sam Giordanengo, team leader and members Shawn Flood, Joyce Hamasaki, Lucy Jones, Guy Kimura, Jim Yoshida, Melanie Marciel, Trina Nahm-Mijo, Joni Onishi, Christine Quintana, Jeanne Ryan, James Schumaker, Deborah Shigehara, and Taupouri Tangaro.

Student Academic Grievance Committee

This committee hears student grievances that were unable to be resolved at the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs’ level. Thank you Sharon Moran for chairing this committee and members: Misty Carmichael, Robert Yamane, and student representatives.

Student Conduct Committee

My thanks to the Student Conduct Committee: Wilton Watanabe (chair), Melanie Marciel and Erick Cremer and student representatives.

Faculty/Staff Awards and BOR Excellence in Teaching Award

The Faculty/Staff Award Committee reviews the nominations for the Outstanding Lecturer, Outstanding Staff Member, Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service, Innovation Award, and Mahalo Award. Serving on the committee were Donnalyn Kalei (chair), Marilyn Bader, and April Nakagawa. Mahalo!

Thank you to the Committee for the BOR Excellence in Teaching Award: Sandra Claveria (chair), Christine Quintana, Beth Sanders and student representatives Michael Breitwish, Sr., and Naomi Gilmane-Kim.

International Education Committee

This committee supports the HawCC Strategic Plan (B1) on global issues including seeking opportunities to infuse cultural/global awareness into the curriculum, creating and enhancing international exchange opportunities for faculty; developing study abroad opportunities, providing opportunities for intercultural interaction between domestic and international students including International Education Week. Mahalo to Sherri Fujita (chair), Andrey Chan, Steve Clements, Karen Crowell, Kamaka Gunderson, John-Gabriel James, Carrie Mospens, Elizabeth Niemeyer, Christine Quintana, Deseree Salvador, Pamela Scheffler and Noe Noe Wong-Wilson.

Safety Committee

This committee’s function and purpose is to report all safety and security issues concerning Hawai‘i Community College including the UH Center at West Hawai‘i. Mahalo goes out to chair William Affonso and members: Erick Cremer, Donna DeLuz, Mari Giel, Jack Minassian, Kaleo Quintana and Wilton Watanabe.

Hawai‘i Protocols Committee

As described by Dr. Taupouri Tangaro, “the practice of Hawai‘i Protocols at Hawai‘i Community College is integral to our collective role as stewards of things Hawaiian. Hawai‘i protocols remind us of our profound and significant connection to the dynamic world in which we live.” This committee prepared for more than 60 kipaepae ceremonies this past year. Mahalo to Taupouri Tangaro, Kekuhi Kealiikanakaoleohaililani, Manai Kalua and members: Jacqueline Alvarez-Martinez, Monica Burnett, Doris Chang, Sandra Claveria, Rabecca Lena Colobong, Sam Giordanengo, Kamaka Gunderson, Drew Kapp, Pele Kaio, Dorinna Manuel-Cortez, Ryan McCormack, Naveen Siriah, Noel Tagab-Cruz, Ulu Vanblarcom, Noe Noe Wong-Wilson, Kainoa Ariola, Kekoa Harman, Holo Ho`opa`i, Kainani Kahaunaele, and Gail Makuakāne-Lundin.

Hawai‘i Papa O Ke Ao

Mahalo to Dr. Taupouri for serving on the UH System Indigenous Steering Committee. Hawai‘i Papa O Ke Ao is the name chosen for this group tasked with developing a plan to make the University of Hawai‘i a leader in indigenous education.

Special thanks to Kamaka Gunderson (chair), Ho‘olulu Council for coordinating the retreat to develop HawCC’s implementation of Hawai‘i Papa O Ke Ao and the plan for HawCC’s Kauhale.

Mahalo to Kamaka Gunderson, Kekuhi Kealiikanakaoleohaililani and Ryan McCormack for assisting me with the wala‘au sessions during the 2014 Spring semester. The Wala`au Talk Story Sessions are intended to generate campus wide discussions and ideas of how to sustain the philosophy we call Kauhale. Thank you to all who participated in these Wala`au Sessions.

Mahalo to all of you for a terrific year. Have a great summer. Be safe and we’ll see you in the Fall.

Noreen Yamane

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.